首页 > 支持中心 > GMP级AAV常见问题解答

GMP级AAV常见问题解答

Q: pH值测定是检测浓缩之前还是浓缩之后的pH?浓缩前后的pH是否会变化?如果是浓缩后,用pH计测定需要的样品量较多,是否会导致浪费?

A: pH值是rAAV成品放行必检项,如果希望节约样品,建议采用微量pH电极来实现,样品量一般仅需15uL-100uL。

Q: 装量怎么理解?

A: 按照药典通则0942,最低装量检查法进行标示装量的检测。如有变动,建议与CDE沟通。

Q: A260/A280反映的是DNA/蛋白的相对比值,它具体有什么意义?

A: A260/A280是DNA/蛋白的直观体现,对于rAAV而言,该指标可以侧面反映空壳率或者其他污染。当A260/A280过小,则空壳率可能偏高,当A260/A280过高,则其他污染可能过高。该方法的检测的优点是方便快捷,便于趋势跟踪。

Q: 一般来讲,蛋白杂质均来自宿主细胞和培养基,如果已经检测了宿主蛋白残留和BSA,再单独检测蛋白杂质又是基于什么考虑?

A: SDS-PAGE检测蛋白的目的是鉴别rAAV的衣壳蛋白条带,也能总体直观地反映蛋白杂质情况,除了宿主蛋白、BSA外,蛋白也可能是衣壳降解产物。

Q: 像rAAV这种非整合宿主基因组的病毒载体,如何检测感染滴度?

A: 目前检验的金标准是采用TCID50,基本原理是基于辅助病毒adenovirus H5细胞实验再采用qPCR检测。

Q: 检测基因的表达和功能,考虑到之前已经用相同的质粒包rAAV完成体外实验和小鼠实验,所以这两项算是做过了,只要DNA序列正确,基因表达和功能检测可以不做吗 ?

A: 基因表达跟工艺稳定性有关,也是属于效价(potency)的重要项。至于功能检测,建议与CDE沟通,从科学性角度做验证。

Q: rcAAV是否指双链互补AAV?我的AAV非自身互补,不知检测该指标是基于什么考虑?

A: rcAAV是指复制完整型AAV(replication competent AAV),是对具有复制能力的AAV做残留限定,也是法规要求的重点项目,从评审的角度涉及安全性的检验项目是重点关注的项目。

Q: 不溶性微粒,不知这项中的不溶性微粒与外观可见异物和可见异物项目有何区别?

A: 外观可见异物的检验方法是目测法,主要标准是无50μm以上异物,可见异物系指存在于注射剂、眼用液体制剂和无菌原料药中,在规定条件下目视可以观测到的不溶性物质,其粒径或长度通常大于50μm,此项目针对所有液体制剂【参引药典通则0904】。

不溶性微粒的检验方法通常采用不溶性微粒仪,关注的微粒范围为含10μm及以上的微粒。针对检查静脉用注射剂(溶液型注射液、注射用无菌粉末、注射用浓溶液)及供静脉注射用无菌原料药中不溶性微粒的大小及数量,可根据自己项目性质进行评估。【参引药典通则 0903】

Q: 对于支原体和细菌内毒素,是基于安评的考虑,之前已经做了两批小鼠实验,结果都没问题,这两项是否可以不做?

A: 基因治疗国内法规参见CDE颁布《人用重组DNA制品质量控制技术指导原则》需进行该支原体、内毒素的检验。如有疑问,建议与中检院、CDE做沟通。

Q: 派真细胞库的来源?

A: 派真293细胞库的来源是获得正式商用授权的。

Q: 派真生物单次发酵的生产体积?对应的AAV产量是多少?

A: 单次贴壁发酵体积:2L, 7L, 25L, 50L, 200L,均为单个反应器。产量不同AAV血清型可能不同,以AAV9(以中高产血清型为例): 2L的产量在1E+14GC,50L为1E+16GC,100L为2E+16GC

Q: genome copy/mL(GC/mL)与 vg/mL(virus genome/mL)的单位是否具有换算关系?派真测定腺相关病毒GC/mL是采用何种方法?如果是q-PCR,是采用病毒自身特异引物,还是采用插入表达序列特异性引物?

A: enome copy/mL=gc/ml= vg/mL(virus genome/mL)。测定GC采用q-PCR和ddPCR两种方式。qPCR涉及标曲标准品的标定;ddPCR可以设置参比品质控,非必需项。ddPCR在精密度的验证上%RSD更低,特别是中间精密度。qPCR更容易存在实验室间与操作人员间的偏差。工艺摸索和中间品主要采用qPCR,终产品的滴度通常用ddPCR。GC方法开发可采用GOI靶基因的特异性引物,前期开发阶段也可采用polyA或者ITR等元件作为通用型检测。

GMP产品建议用特异性引物,终产品滴度检验均基于特异性引物检验放行的。

Q: 对于包装生产的腺相关病毒成品,有否对空壳率进行测定,用什么方法,空壳率维持在一个什么样的水平?

A: 通常采用AUC、TEM、CyroTEM、或者VG TITER/CAPSID TITER,但是AUC、TEM、CyroTEM不适合作为QC放行用,用于质量研究和工艺开发用会更好。目前采用阴离子色谱HPLC进行方法开发,派真可以提供分析方法开发服务并与CyroTEM、AUC检验结果进行比对验证。

空壳率每个血清型用柱层析得到的空壳率都有不同。派真生物生产的AAV9在10%以内。

Q: 细胞库的检定是否按照中国药典2015三部通则《生物制品生产检定用动物细胞基质制备及检定规程》进行?

A: 是的

Q: 通用检项中未见HIV,HBV,HCV检测,无热原质试验,野毒检测,这些是否需要检测,但是不属于通用检项?

A: 产品收获液会根据工艺特性进行外源病毒因子检测,不列入原液和成品标准中。

Q: 目前分析方法可接受的误差或偏差范围?

A: 一般生化类方法的%RSD通常为15%-25%,ddPCR接受标准为10%,但通常验证数据为<5%,TCID50的%RSD为小于100%。

Q: 对于批次送检的样本,有什么送样量的要求吗?

A: 建议单次委托快递送样量不低于50uL体积,避免冻融、蒸发、管壁的影响。基因组滴度、质粒DNA残留、rcAAV等建议送样量10ul以上,感染滴度送样量建议20 ul以上,检测空壳率的送样量建议达到5×1013vg。

Home > Support > FAQ for GMP rAAV

FAQ for GMP rAAV

Q: Does the pH measurement refer to the pH before or after concentration? A large amount of sample is required for pH measurement and will it lead to waste?

A: The pH measurement is a mandatory assay for the release of rAAV products. If you want to save samples, it is recommended to use a micro pH electrode. The sample volume needs only 15uL-100uL.

Q: How to understand loading?
A: In accordance with the Pharmacopoeia General Rules 0942, the minimum filling quantity inspection method is used to carry out the detection of the loading quantity. If there is any change, it is recommended to communicate with CDE.
Q: A260/A280 reflects the relative ratio of DNA/protein. What is its specific meaning?
A: A260/A280 is an intuitive manifestation of DNA/protein. For rAAV, this indicator can reflect the empty shell rate or other pollution. When A260/A280 is too small, the empty shell rate might be high. When A260/A280 is too high, other pollution might be high. The advantages of this method are convenient and quick.
Q: Generally speaking, protein impurities come from host cells and culture media. If host protein residues and BSA have been tested, what are the considerations for detecting protein impurities separately?
A: SDS-PAGE is to identify the capsid protein band of rAAV, and it can also directly reflect the protein impurity. In addition to host protein and BSA, protein impurities may also be a capsid degradation product.
Q: How to detect the infection titer for viral vectors that do not integrate the host genome like rAAV?
A: The current standard for testing is TCID50, and the basic principle is based on the helper virus adenovirus H5 cell experiment and the following qPCR detection.
Q: As for gene expression and function, considering that the same plasmid package rAAV has been applied for in vitro experiments and mouse experiments, these two items have been completed. Can they be omitted as long as the DNA sequence is correct?

A: Gene expression is related to process stability and is also an important item of potency. As for functional testing, it is recommended to communicate with CDE and carry out testing from a scientific perspective.

Q: Does rcAAV refer to double-stranded complementary AAV? My AAV is not self-complementary and I wonder the reason for this testing.

A: rcAAV refers to the replication competent AAV, which limits the residues of AAV with replication capability and is also a key item required by regulations.

Q: What is the difference between insoluble particles and visible foreign matter?
A: The inspection method for visible foreign particles is visual inspection. The main criterion is that there is no foreign particles larger than 50μm. According to pharmacopoeia general rules 0904, visible foreign particles refers to the insoluble matter that exists in injections, ophthalmic liquid preparations and sterile APIs and can be visually observed under specified conditions. Its particle size or length is usually greater than 50μm.

The inspection method for insoluble particles usually is an insoluble particle analyzer, and the range of insoluble particles is 10μm and above. According to pharmacopoeia general rules 0903, in order to check the size and quantity of insoluble particles in intravenous injections (solution injection, sterile powder for injection, concentrated solution for injection) and sterile bulk drugs for intravenous injection, evaluation can be made according to the project nature.

Q: For mycoplasma and bacterial endotoxins, two batches of mouse experiments have been done before with good results. Can these two testing be omitted?

A: Gene therapy should refer to domestic regulation “Guiding Principles for Quality Control of Human Recombinant DNA Products” by EDC. Mycoplasma and endotoxin should be tested. If you have further questions, it’s recommended to communicate with the CDE.

Q: What is the source of PackGene cell bank?

A: PackGene h293 cell bank is officially authorized for commercial use.

Q: What is the production volume of a single batch fermentation and the corresponding AAV output?

A: the volume of a single batch attached fermentation include 2L, 7L, 25L, 50L, 200L. AAV yields may be different for various AAV serotypes. Take AAV9 (a medium to high yielding serotype) as an example. The yield of 2L, 50L and 100L are 1E+14GC, 1E+16GC and 2E+16GC.

Q: Dose the unit GC/ml and vg/ml share a conversion relationship? How does PackGene test the GC/ml of AAV? Provided with qPCR, should it apply virus-specific primers or insert sequence-specific primers?
A: GC/ml=vg/ml. qPCR and ddPCR are two methods to test GC. qPCR involves the standard calibration and ddPCR can set reference products, which is optional. ddPCR shows lower %RSD precision, especially the intermediate precision. qPCR is more likely to be affected laboratories and operators. qPCR is usually applied during process exploration and intermediate products, while ddPCR are usually applied in final products.

GC method development can use specific primers for GOI target genes, and elements such as polyA or ITR can also be used as universal detection in the early development stage. It is recommended to use specific primers for GMP products, and the final product titer test is based on specific primer.

Q: Has the empty shell rate been measured for AAV products? What method is used to maintain the empty shell rate at what level?

A: Usually AUC, TEM, CyroTEM, or VG TITER/CAPSID TITER is applied, but AUC, TEM, CyroTEM are not suitable for QC. Currently, anion chromatography HPLC is used for process development. PackGene can provide analytical method development services and compare and verify with CyroTEM and AUC test results. The empty shell rate obtained by column chromatography for each serotype is different. PackGene Biotechnology produces AAV9 with empty shell rate lower than 10%.

Q: Is the verification of the cell bank in accordance with the Chinese Pharmacopoeia 2015 Three General Principles "The Preparation and Verification Regulations of Animal Cell Matrix for the Verification of Biological Products"?

A: Yes.

Q: There are no HIV, HBV, HCV testing, pyrogen-free tests, and wild virus testing in the general inspection items. Do these tests need to be applied?

A: The product harvest liquid will be tested for exogenous viral factors according to the process characteristics and will not be included in the standard of the original liquid and final product.

Q: The acceptable error or deviation range of the current analysis method?

A: The %RSD of general biochemical methods is usually 15%-25%, the acceptance standard of ddPCR is 10%, but usually the verification data is lower than 5%, and the %RSD of TCID50 is lower than 100%.

Q: Are there any requirements for the amount of samples sent in batches?

A: It is recommended that the sample volume of a single commissioned express delivery is not less than 50uL to avoid the effects of freezing and thawing, evaporation, and tube wall adhesion. The recommended sample delivery volume for genome titer, plasmid DNA residue, rcAAV, etc. should be more than 10ul. the recommended sample delivery volume for infection titer should be more than 20ul, and the sample delivery volume for testing the empty shell rate is recommended to reach 5E+13vg.